Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens headline the Hall of Fame Committee’s pick

Steroid-fuelled stars Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Rafael Palmeiro are on the eight-person ballot for the Hall of Fame’s Contemporary Era Baseball Committee meeting December 4 in San Diego.

Albert Belle, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Dale Murphy and Curt Schilling are also on the ballot announced Monday for the 16-member committee, which will consider candidates whose careers primarily began from 1980 onwards. A candidate needs 75% to be elected, and anyone who does will be inducted on July 23, along with anyone selected in the Baseball Writers’ Association of America vote announced January 24 .

Bonds, Clemens and Schilling stayed behind in their 10th and final appearance in the BBWAA vote in January. Bonds received 260 of 394 votes (66%), Clemens 257 (65.2%) and Schilling 231 (58.6%).

Palmeiro was removed from the BBWAA vote after receiving 25 votes (4.4%) in his fourth appearance in 2014, falling below the 5% minimum required to remain. Its peak in 2012 was 72 votes (12.6%).

Bonds denied knowingly taking performance-enhancing drugs, and Clemens claims he never used PEDs. Palmeiro was banned for 10 days in August 2005 after testing positive under the major league drug program, just over two weeks after turning his 3,000. got hit.

A seven-time NL MVP, Bonds set a career home run record with 762 and a season record with 73 in 2001. Clemens, a seven-time Cy Young Award winner, reached 354-184 with a 3.12 ERA and 4,672 strikeouts, third behind Nolan Ryan (5,714) and Randy Johnson (4,875). Palmeiro had 3,020 hits and 568 homers.

Ben Verlander: Barry Bonds, baseball’s most feared batsman, belongs in the Hall of Fame

Ben Verlander: Barry Bonds, baseball's most feared batsman, belongs in the Hall of Fame

Ben Verlander explains why Barry Bonds was clearly barred from being inducted into the Hall of Fame in early 2022.

Schilling lost 16 votes in 2021 with 285 (71.1%) votes. Support plummeted after he made hateful remarks towards Muslims, transgender people, reporters and others in retirement.

McGriff received 169 votes (39.8%) in his senior year on the BBWAA vote in 2019. Murphy has been on the BBWAA vote 15 times, receiving a peak of 116 votes (23.2%) in 2000. Mattingly received a high of 145 votes (02/28/2019). %) on the first of 15 appearances on the BBWAA poll in 2001, and Belle appeared on two BBWAA polls, receiving 40 votes (7.7%) in 2006 and 19 (3.5%) in 2007.

Players on the Major League Baseball ineligible list cannot be considered, a rule that excludes Pete Rose.

Six people were elected by the committees last December: Buck O’Neil and Bud Fowler from the early days committee and Gil Hodges, Minnie MiƱoso, Tony Oliva and Jim Kaat from the golden days committee. They were recorded in July alongside David Ortiz, who was elected in the BBWAA vote.

The hall restructured the Veterans Committee process last April for the third time in 12 years. In December 2023 there will be a committee vote for contemporary era managers, officers and umpires and in December 2024 there will be a classic baseball era vote.

The pick was determined by the BBWAA’s 11-member Historical Review Committee: Bob Elliott (Canadian Baseball Network), Jim Henneman (formerly of the Baltimore Sun), Steve Hirdt (Stats Perform), Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch), David O’ Brien (The Athletic), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA), Jim Reeves (formerly Fort Worth Star-Telegram), Tracy Ringolsby (, Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle), Susan Slusser (San Francisco Chronicle) and Mark Whicker (Los Angeles News Group).

Reporting by The Associated Press.

Get more out of Major League Baseball Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *