MBB’s Drew was inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023

WACO, Texas— Baylor men’s basketball head coach Scott Drew is one of eight new members of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, announced Wednesday as a member of the Class of 2023.

For two-time National Coach of the Year, Drew joins Robert Brazile (Houston Oilers), Jose Cruz (Houston Astros), Carlette Guidry Falkquay (University of Texas), Priest Holmes (San Antonio Marshall High School/University of Texas) and Adrian Peterson (Palestine High School), Cynthia Potter (Houston Lamar HS) and Michael Strahan (Texas Southern) in the latest TSHOF class.

entering his 20thth Season at the helm of the men’s basketball program, Drew engineered one of the greatest transformations in college basketball history, culminating in April 2021 when the Bears won the program’s first-ever national championship.

He is Baylor’s all-time winning coach with 397 wins and has transformed the Bears into one of the most enduring programs in the game, joining Kansas as the only Power 5 program with more than 18 wins each season since 2008.

In addition to the national title in 2021, Drew has led Baylor to 10 NCAA tournament appearances, five Sweet 16s and three trips to the Elite Eight. Additionally, the program achieved its first national No. 1 ranking, a Big 12 Conference-record winning streak of 23 games, two five-week No. 1 streaks, and an entire season in the nation’s top 3 in 2021.

Baylor joins Gonzaga as the only program to have ranked No. 1 nationally for each of the last three seasons and is one of four programs to have ranked No. 1 nationally for four of the last six seasons, along with Duke, Gonzaga and Kansas. Baylor has averaged 24 wins per season since the first year Drew led BU to the NCAA tournament in 2008.

The three-time Big 12 champion, Coach of the Year, is preparing the Bears for another big season. The league’s coaches voted her their preseason conference favorite for the second time in three seasons. Adam Flagler was named to the preseason All-Big 12 roster while Keyonte George was recognized as Preseason Freshman of the Year and joined LJ Weiner as an All-Big 12 Honorable Mention Selection.

Season tickets are available now and can be purchased at BaylorBears.com. Follow @BaylorMBB on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook for more updates.

The 62nd Annual Texas Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet, presented by Texas Farm Bureau Insurance, will be held on Saturday, April 15, 2023 at the BASE at the Extraco Events Center in Waco, Texas. Tickets and sponsorship packages for the Texas Sports 2023 Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and Reception are available now and are available at tshof.org/2023. For more information or questions, please contact Krista Martin at [email protected] or 254-756-1633.

Jackie Robinson-Basketball-1966
Wesley Bradshaw – Football – 1966
Barton Koch – Football – 1967
John Drew Johnson – Football – 1973
Frank Bridges – Football Coach – 1973
Bill Henderson – basketball coach – 1976
Jack Patterson – Course Coach – 1980
Ted Lyons – Baseball – 1985
Bill Glass – Soccer – 1987
Grant Teaff – Football Coach – 1995
Mike Singletary – Football – 1995
Jody Conradt-Basketball-1997
Clyde Hart – Course Coach – 2000
Larry Isbell – Soccer – 2000
Carroll Dawson – basketball coach – 2003
Stanley Williams – Soccer – 2003
Jim Ray Smith – Soccer – 2007
Lawrence Elkins – Soccer – 2009
Kim Mulkey – basketball coach – 2009
Don Trull – Soccer – 2014
Jeremy Wariner – Athletics – 2015
Robert Griffin III – Soccer – 2020
Scott Drew – Basketball Coach – 2023


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *