Road to Highmark | News, Sports, Jobs

The Jamestown Red Raiders are No. 2 in Class A and will host No. 7 West Seneca West in a Section VI Quarterfinals at Strider Field on Friday. PJ photo by Tim Frank

Randolph is the only local team with a No. 1 in the Section VI playoffs, but the Cardinals won’t play next weekend.

Head coach Brent Brown’s team have been awarded a bye to the Class D semifinals because Cattaraugus-Little Valley, who would have been No. 8, opted not to compete.

Friday night’s two quarterfinals in Class D send No. 6 Frewsburg to No. 3 Portville and No. 7 Gowanda/Pine Valley to No. 2 Franklinville/Ellicottville in Ellicottville.

During the regular season, Portville defeated Frewsburg 55-8 in Week 2 and Franklinville/Ellicottville defeated Gowanda/Pine Valley 47-0 in Week 6.

No. 4 Clymer/Sherman/Panama hosts No. 5 Wilson at Jack Keeney Community Field in Panama on Saturday. The Wolfpack beat the Lakemen 40-14 in Week 1 at Sherman.

Jamestown will be No. 2 in Class A and host No. 7 West Seneca West at 7 p.m. Friday at Strider Field. The Red Raiders finished the regular season 6-2 on aggregate and 5-0 in Class A1, while West Seneca West won 6-2 on aggregate and 4-2 in Class A2. The teams had a common opponent. Jamestown defeated Niagara Wheatfield 57-26 in Week 7 while West defeated Seneca West 27-0 in Week 4.

In Class B, Falconer/Cassadaga Valley/Maple Grove have been awarded No. 2 in Class B2 and will host No. 3 in Class B1 West Seneca East Friday at 7pm at Falconer’s Bill Race Field. The Golden Cougars finished the regular season 5-3 overall and 4-2 in their league, while the Trojans were 5-3 overall and 3-2 in their league. The teams’ only common opponent was Cheektowaga. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley/Maple Grove lost to the Warriors 30-14 in Week 3 while West beat Seneca East 27-24 in Week 1 to Cheektowaga.

Three local teams qualified for the Class C postseason. Salamanca earned the No. 3 seed and will host the Cleveland Hill No. 6 at 7 p.m. Friday at Veterans Park. Fredonia has earned the No. 5 entry and will travel to No. 4 Depew on Friday at 7:00 p.m., while Southwestern has earned the No. 7 entry and will visit No. 2 Lackawanna on Saturday at 1:00 p.m

Semi-finals in all classes will be played in the higher seeded teams on Friday 4th November and Saturday 5th November.

The finals at Highmark Stadium in Orchard Park are scheduled for Thursday November 10th and Friday November 11th. Class D Finals begin Thursday 10th November at 3pm followed by Class C Finals at 6pm and Class A Finals at 9pm. On Friday 11th November Class B Finals begin at 5pm p.m., the final of class AA follows at 8 p.m

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *