Today in sports history, Pele scores his 1,000th goal

1934 – Busher Jackson scored four goals in the third half to lead the Toronto Maple Leafs to a 5-2 win over the St. Louis Eagles.

1960 – St. Louis’ Jerry Norton intercepts four passes to overtake the Washington Redskins 26-14.

1969 – The Brazilian football legend scores his 1000th goal.

1977 – Walter Payton rushes for an NFL-record 275 yards and the Chicago Bears defeat the Minnesota Vikings 10-7.

1979 – Red Holzman of the New York Knicks wins his 500th game, a 130-125 overtime win over Houston at Madison Square Garden. Holzman is the second coach after Red Auerbach to reach this mark.

1983 – Seattle’s Dave Krieg rushed for 418 yards and three touchdowns to lead the Seahawks to a 27-19 win over the Denver Broncos.

People also read…

1983 – Steve Bartkowski throws a 42-yard desperation pass that deflects off the 5-yard line to Billy Johnson, and he then fights his way into the end zone to give the Atlanta Falcons a 28-24 win over the San Francisco 49ers to bring.

1994 – Tisha Venturini scores two goals and Angela Kelly, Sarah Dacey and Robin Confer add goals for North Carolina to beat Notre Dame 5-0 for the ninth straight NCAA women’s soccer championship.

1997 – AC Green breaks the NBA record for consecutive games – his 907th consecutive appearance in the Dallas Mavericks’ 101-97 loss to the Golden State Warriors. Green surpasses Randy Smith’s brand of 906, which was discontinued from 1972-83.

1999 – TCU’s LaDainian Tomlinson rushes for an NCAA Division I record 406 yards on 43 carries with six touchdowns in a 52-24 win over UTEP.

2001 – Ball State beats No. 3 UCLA 91-73 in the semifinals of the Maui Invitational, a day after beating No. 4 Kansas in the opening round.

2010 – Mikel Leshoure of Illinois rushes for a school record 330 yards and scores two touchdowns in the Fighting Illinois’ 48-27 win over Northwestern at Wrigley Field in Chicago. All offensive play is directed toward the same end zone because one wall, while heavily padded, is too close behind the other.

2011 – Brittney Griner has 32 points and 14 rebounds while Baylor establishes themselves as the clear No. 1 team with a 94-81 win over No. 2 Notre Dame in the previous season’s WNIT championship game.

2011 – Landon Donovan scores in the 72nd minute from passes from Robbie Keane and David Beckham and the three Los Angeles Galaxy superstars win their first MLS Cup together with a 1-0 win over the Houston Dynamo.

2012 – Jack Taylor scores 138 points to break the NCAA points record in Division III Grinnell’s 179-104 victory over Faith Baptist Bible in Grinnell, Iowa.

2016 – Jimmie Johnson ties Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt to a record seven NASCAR championships as he defeats Carl Edwards, Joey Logano and defending champion Kyle Busch at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, transcribed or redistributed without permission.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *